Siegel’s Bagels – A Real Montreal Bagel Experience


Siegel’s Bagels touts its wares as being the ‘real Montreal bagel.’ Being Americans, this seemed a little odd, as we’re used to hearing about ‘New York style’ bagels. But tomato, tomahto, Montreal, New York – it all comes out to meaning great bagels in the end. Siegel’s kettle-boils their bagels and then bakes them in a wood fired oven. The results: Addicting.

Bagels Before the Eating
Bagels Before the Eating

We visited the Kitsilano location in Vancouver. There’s also another shop in Granville Island. As soon as we stepped through the doors, the smell of fresh bagels greeted us. Siegel’s kettle-boils their bagels and then bakes them in a wood-fired oven. This results in a tight crumb, chewy texture, and almost sweet exterior.

The Wood-Fired Production Line
The Wood-Fired Production Line

The toppings range from classic (poppy seed, sesame seed), new classic (salt and rosemary) and sacrilegious (banana walnut?) I’m sure it’s lovely, but my grandma Frieda would have been bemused.

My everything bagel was everything I hoped for.

Tight Crumb!
Tight Crumb!

The Rosemary Salt bagel was fantastic.

Siegel's Rosemary Salt Bagel
Siegel’s Rosemary Salt Bagel

And, I’m a sucker for hamantashen — I love the little three-cornered cakes stuffed with poppy-seed & honey filling. I got this one, before I saw they actually had hamantashen as well, but I think it was a wise choice, because it was bigger. More poppy seed and honey for me!

Poppy Seed Confection
Poppy Seed Confection

Published by

Seattle Foodshed

Gardening, foraging, exploring and cooking. Time for a delicious adventure.

2 thoughts on “Siegel’s Bagels – A Real Montreal Bagel Experience”

What do you think?